Outside of NZ? Watch via Live Stream!

Team History

Based out of Hamilton and Tauranga, the Magic were formed in 1998 and represent the Waikato, Bay of Plenty and Gisborne regions. The oldest of the six New Zealand franchise teams, the Magic were formed following the merger of the Waikato Wildcats and Bay of Plenty Magic.

Both teams had been founder members of the Coca-Cola Cup/National Bank Cup league and played their first season as a joint force in the 1999 season. They have been a permanent fixture ever since while taking their place in the subsequent ANZ Championship and ANZ Premiership leagues. The Magic are the only team from the Coca-Cola Cup/National Bank Cup era to have retained their original name.

During the National Bank Cup era, Magic were title winners in 2005 and 2006. In the ANZ Championship years – 2008 – 2016 – Magic were the most successful New Zealand team, including being grand finalists on three occasions. In 2012, they became the only New Zealand team to win the ANZ Championship title.

Dame Noeline Taurua was the first Magic coach when the game went semi-professional in 2008 (ANZ Championship) and Amigene Metcalfe was the team’s first player.

With an alternate playing strip of red in previous seasons, the Magic have more recently played in black. Home venues for the Magic are, Trustpower Baypark Arena, in Tauranga, Globox Arena, In Hamilton and Energy Events Centre, in Rotorua.