Outside of NZ? Watch via Live Stream!

Mystics name further 5 for 2018 squad

Mystics name further 5 for 2018 squad

The SKYCITY Mystics have named 5 more players for their 2018 campaign as they look to build on the success of the inaugural ANZ Premiership.

This year’s co-captain Anna Harrison will be back in the Mystics uniform alongside fellow defenders Storm Purvis and Michaela Sokolich-Beatson, while Phoenix Karaka returns home to Auckland after moving on from the Central Pulse. Mid-courter Samon Nathan has also re-signed with the Mystics after enjoying her first season in the blue strip where she impressed at centre to earn a regular start in the position.

Harrison, Purvis and Sokolich-Beatson formed one of the toughest walls to penetrate during the ANZ Premiership where the Mystics reached the Elimination Final, while Karaka was back to the form she showed when making her international debut for the Silver Ferns in 2014.

Netball Northern Board chair Dianne McAteer said adding Karaka into the defensive end – which included a mix of experience and one of the country’s rising stars – would add another dimension to their play as they aim to maintain the momentum built this season.

“We had a team this year which showed they had the talent to be true contenders and retaining those combinations will be a great start for the new season,” McAteer said.

“Anna brings such a wealth of experience and hunger for success to the court while Storm made an impact for the Mystics during the second half of the season and at the Super Club competition in Nelson,” she said. “Michaela is certainly part of New Zealand’s rising talent and a player to watch, while Phoenix was back to her best this year and brings yet another dynamic element to an impressive line-up.”

The SKYCITY Mystics have already signed shooters Maria Tutaia, Bailey Mes and Tera-Maria Amani as well as mid-courter Elisapeta Toeava and new-comer Jamie Hume for next year’s league.