Outside of NZ? Watch via Live Stream!

Magic finalise roster for 2018

Magic finalise roster for 2018

WBOP Magic have finalised their roster for the 2018 ANZ Premiership, with the latest wave of signings headlined by South African import Lenize Potgieter.

Potgieter, the second most prolific shooter in this year’s league, returns for a second season alongside Ariana Cable-Dixon, Amorangi Malesala and Sydney Fraser.

New to the team is NZU21s defender Kate Lloyd and Hayley Saunders who plied their trade for the Tactix in 2017, and Katherine Levien (nee Coffin) who returns following the birth of her first child.

They join captain Casey Kopua, Sam Sinclair, Kelly Jury and Monica Falkner, who were announced earlier this month.

Magic coach Marg Forsyth says she is pleased with the make-up of her 2018 squad.

“Last season we had a relatively new team with loads of exciting young talent, and as the season progressed you really saw combinations develop,” Forsyth said.

“We’re really happy we’ve retained the core of this group as well as bringing in new talent who deliver a great combination of experience and enthusiasm.”

The confirmed roster for the WBOP Magic is: Ariana Cable-Dixon, Monica Falkner, Sydney Fraser, Kelly Jury, Casey Kopua, Katherine Levien (nee Coffin), Kate Lloyd, Amorangi Malesala, Lenize Potgieter, Hayley Saunders and Samantha Sinclair.