Outside of NZ? Watch via Live Stream!

Kersten back for Pulse in 2018

Kersten back for Pulse in 2018

The Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse have announced the re-signing of midcourter Claire Kersten for 2018.

Acknowledged by her peers as their Player of the Year, Kersten caught everyone’s attention this season, having a campaign to savour on the back of more regular court time.

“The difference this year compared with my other years involved with the Pulse was the amount of game time that I had which is huge and we had an awesome team environment which obviously contributes to your enjoyment as well,” Kersten said.

“I’m really excited about next year with the Pulse. What’s great is that we’ve got some continuity from this season going through to next season which is really important.

“We’re not going to be the exact same team but it’s really awesome that we’ve managed to retain a core group while also getting some exciting new talent.

In planning for next year, Kersten’s signing was an important part of the picture for Pulse coach Yvette McCausland-Durie.

“She is so critical in lots of ways,” the coach said. “She’s a senior leader. She leads by example in terms of her work ethic and also just as a player, in being a starting line player and a key component of our defensive unit. It’s really important to have her back and I’m really delighted.”

The Pulse have now confirmed nine of their roster for 2018: Claire Kersten, Ameliaranne Ekenasio, Aliyah Dunn, Sulu Fitzpatrick, Mila Reuelu-Buchanan, Katrina Grant, Tiana Metuarau, Whitney Souness and Karin Burger.