Outside of NZ? Watch via Live Stream!

Katrina Grant named Player of the Year

Katrina Grant named Player of the Year

Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse captain Katrina Grant has been named the 2018 ANZ Premiership Player of the Year.

The defender was confirmed as the stand-out player this season following the Grand Final between the Pulse and Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel at Fly Palmy Arena in Palmerston North on Sunday.

Grant said it was an honour to receive the award after what had been another history-making season for the Pulse.

“I’m very fortunate that I play with a group of athletes who make my job so much easier,” she said.

“We have formed a great unit this season which has showed with our performances on court.

“The Pulse has had so much support during some pretty tough seasons, so to repay that faith has been rewarding to both me and the squad.”

Grant praised the team culture for what had been an enjoyable season both on and off court.

The goal defence has returned to the peak of her powers during the ANZ Premiership where she finished second on intercepts and rebounds and was third for deflections.

More importantly, Grant’s presence on court was a telling factor for a young Pulse side which featured two teenagers in the shooting circle and a change of roles for mid-courters Claire Kersten and Karin Burger.

The Pulse set the pace over the first half of the 2018 Premiership with Grant’s leadership ensuring their standards never dipped.

She played in every minute of the Pulse’s regular season as they netted 12 wins from 15 games.

Grant has now spent nine seasons with the Pulse, the last eight as captain, and has played a leading hand in helping the franchise make the Finals Series for the last two years. She led them to the post-season for the first time in franchise history last year.

She is the second recipient of the ANZ Premiership Player of the Year award with Jane Watson, now captain of the Silvermoon Tactix, receiving the honour in the inaugural ANZ Premiership last year.